Friday, 1 May 2015

Wonder of Words Young People's Literary Festival 2015

On Saturday 4 July 2015 Charters School will be holding Wonder of Words, its annual young people's literary festival and summer fair. Read on to find out more about the event, the authors who will be appearing and how you can get tickets. Alternatively, you can download the festival programme by clicking here

For this year's Wonder of Words Festival we have again managed to provide a brilliant line-up of author events, featuring some of the hottest authors currently writing for children and young adults (and one scorching hot illustrator). We are very excited to be hosting Abi Elphinstone, Tamsyn Murray and The Etherington Brothers and we believe we have a programme which has a little something for everyone.


The Etherington Brothers 11.00am-12.00pm

Brothers Robin & Lorenzo Etherington are the creators of Long Gone Don, Baggage, Monkey Nuts, Von Doogan & YORE! Their work appears regularly in The Phoenix comic and they have also worked on The Dandy, Transformers, Star Wars, Wallace & GromitDreamworks, Monsters vs Aliens and Madagascar 

In Lost & Found, their first workshop of the day, they will focus on story creation and the six steps to making awesome comics stories and art. A must for lovers of comics of all ages.

Tamsyn Murray 12.30-1.30pm

We are very excited to be welcoming Tamsyn Murray to WoW 2015. Tamsyn is the author of the Stunt Bunny series and YA supernatural romance series My So-Called Afterlife. Completely Cassidy is her new series for pre-teens and will have you giggling until you (quite possibly) burst. Tamsyn promises hula hooping, plate spinning and balloon modelling in her Completely Cassidy event.

The Etherington Brothers 2.00-3.00pm

The Big Adventure Show. In this, their second event of the day, Robin & Lorenzo Etherington will focus on how to create an original adventure from start to finish. As with all of their workshops, it promises to be an exciting, funny 
and creative show for comic lovers of all ages. 

Abi Elphinstone 3.30-4.30pm

Don’t miss your chance to meet Abi Elphinstone, the writer of The Dreamsnatcher, a book that many are already calling one of the best books of 2015. The Dreamsnatcher is a classic tale of good versus evil and is full of magic, adventure, and really nasty villains.It is perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling, Michelle Paver and Eva Ibbotson.


There is no charge for entry to the Summer Fair, however tickets for each author event are £2 per person. This year, we are also offering the following group/multi-event ticket packages:

  • Two person day ticket (Entry to all four events for any combination of two adults/children) (£12)
  • Three person day ticket (Entry to all four events for any combination of three adults/children) (£16)
  • Four person day ticket (Entry to all four events for any combination of four adults/children) (£20)

Tickets can be purchased online here at the school's ParentPay shop:

Please select the required ticket from the relevant 'Please select size' menu.
If you do not have a child at Charters School please ad 'n/a' in the relevant fields.

Your tickets will be available for collection on the day of the festival. We
recommend that you arrive slightly early in order to avoid missing the start
of your event(s).

In the rare situation where an author is unable to attend, the programme may change accordingly.

Books and Signings

We will be selling books after each event and there will be an opportunity to meet each author and get your books signed. Unfortunately we will not have credit card facilities on the day and we will only be accepting cash or cheques for book purchases. You are welcome to bring books you already own for signing.

If you have any questions please do not hesitate to email or call the school on 01344 624826

The Summer Fair

As mentioned above, the summer fair part of the day is completely free to enter, and there will be plenty going on for all of the family to keep you occupied between the author events, including:

Live music

Second hand book stall

Hot food stalls
Tea and cakes

Silent auction
Chocolate tombola

Bouncy castle
Sumo suits
Games, games and more games

All kinds of other stalls 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for leaving a comment on our blog.